Learning more about OERs…

ImageMy quest this week has been to find as many “how-to” open educational resources (OERs) as I can that are focused on helping people learn how to find, use, create, repurpose and reshare OERs. I had planned to build my own OER about OERs, based on the Lunch-and-Learn sessions I had done when I worked at the College, but realized that open content has moved on very quickly and expanded exponentially since then so it made more sense to scrape the Net.

The first resource I reviewed in detail, was an OER from “OSTRICH”, a JISC-funded project conducted by the University of Bath in the UK. Their OER   “Opening up the World of Learning” is intended for an academic audience and a face-to-face delivery format. There are four learning objectives and eight activities that are described in sufficient detail to allow for straightforward duplication of delivery OR make it easier to repurpose the approach and to reshare the edited structure. The resource includes: a workshop plan, a poster, a PowerPoint presentation, Getting Started handout, Finding and Evaluating OERs worksheet, Finding Open Content and Attributing Third Party Content handouts. A thorough coverage with a focus (of course) on UK projects and resources. I haven’t checked all the linked resources but I would probably use some elements of this if I were planning a face-to-face delivery.

I decided to refocus on Canadian OER workshops or tutorials and I was surprised at how many Canadian educational institutions participate nowadays (it wasn’t always the case).

Side Learning:  Even after the most cursory Google search (“OER workshop*” and “OER tutorial*”), I found lots to explore. I played around a little with Google filters to narrow things down to a more Canadian perspective and to keep it current. I found some interesting inconsistencies within Google search – if I went to Advanced search from the icon for Options, I couldn’t find a way to set a time frame. I could select four different options other than “any time” for the “Last updated” but not a time span I wanted.
On the other hand, if I looked at the menu options across the top of the seaImagerch page, I found that I could click on “Any time” and founImaged six other options including a “Custom” option that allowed me to narrow my search more effectively. Weird inconsistency. I’ll have to go back and do a side-by-side comparison as it seems the menu options across the top of the page provided far more granularity than the Advanced search page.

I found an interesting online OER Tutorial created and shared by Tessa Foster and Brad Fougere of Algonquin College that I’ve been working my way through and really like. There is lots of depth and possibilities for side explorations but the main body of the tutorial provides a solid grounding in the history of OER, issues of Canadian copyright and Creative Commons licensing, plus they’ve integrated interesting activities (social bulletin board, search-and-share) and summative unit quizzes in their screencasting tool . The layout is easy to jump around in and easy to read. Love the screencast tutorials for the different repositories. OER Tutorial - Algonquin College

I’d encourage you to go and try out either or both – lots to learn and share.

More OER learning next week…Sylvia

About Cloudsyl

Now a mid-Island observer of the Cloud
This entry was posted in OERs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

