In catch-up mode again…

Final webinar Section 2 Connected CoursesOct 10th was the final webinar for

9/29-10/12 Unit 2: Trust and Network Fluency (Leveraging your “Why”)

of Connected Courses. I’d managed to fall behind on my reading/viewing so I wasn’t ready with good questions but I was able to listen to about half of the session before I got called away. I’ll be reviewing it over the Thanksgiving (Canada) weekend! The fascinating discussion was between (among?) –

  • Kira Baker-Doyle, assistant professor of education at Arcadia University and author of “The Networked Teacher”;
  • Meredith Broussard, assistant professor of journalism and Temple Univeristy in Philadelphia;
  • Ulrich Boser, senior fellow at the Center for American Progress and author of “The Leap: The Science of Trust and Why It Matters” and “The Gardner Heist: The True Story of the World’s Largest Unsolved Art Theft”;
  • Nishant Shah,  founder and director of research for the Bangalore-based Centre for Internet and Society; and
  • Jonathan Worth, award-winning photographer, Coventry University professor and leading teacher of open-learning photography courses, including Phonar Nation.

I enjoyed the examples (ideas) presented as to how to explain to students the benefits and risks of participating in an open, connected learning environment. I had discussions with concerned teachers at a spring conference in Kamloops (CNIE2014) who wondered whether their students were ready to learn in the open. While they could see the value, they were concerned about exposing students to risks that they didn’t feel they could foresee or control. There was a lot of discussion around the need for learning in protected, safe spaces as a way to provide the freedom and confidence to “play” and experiment.

I still don’t fully understand what is meant by “leaky networks” ( a concept enthusiastically presented by Nishant Shah) and unintentional (unpredicted?) learning that occurs because of the exchanges you participate in as you participate in the network?

I’m in a quandary as to whether I should just go through the stuff I’ve missed in Section 2 (which I’m really interested in) or start out with a renewed focus and commitment to Section 3 (which I’m also interested in). I am taking this course for my own knowledge and learning and I don’t like leaving interesting resources unread or unviewed. On the other hand, part of learning in a connected environment is keeping up with the flow, the interaction between all these fascinating new people in my learning network. What to do…mmmmm?

Note to self:  Find a better way to keep on top of the fragments of connected courses. It took me several tries to find the link to the actual recording of the Google Hangout event from Oct 10. I had it in my Google Calendar before, but it disappeared once the event was over. When I went to the list of readings and resources for the section, it wasn’t embedded there (at least I couldn’t see it). I finally found it by looking in the Calendar. Implication for my development of a connected course – embed a touchstone area where a learner can go to find the important pieces – and include a navigation activity in the first section?

About Cloudsyl

Now a mid-Island observer of the Cloud
This entry was posted in ccXplorations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

